Birds of Sorrow

birds of sorrow

You cannot prevent birds of sorrow from flying over your head, but you can prevent them from building nests in your hair.

  • Chinese proverb

 

This quote, I found in the book ‘Finding your way’ grieving the death of your child, a book given to me by Canuck Place. http://www.canuckplace.org  This book became my bible in helping me accept my grief and understand what was happening. The book ‘No death No Fear’ By Thich Nhat Hanh taught me that we cannot take blame for what we do not control. We all live we all die, some lives are long some are short all are meaningful.

Namaste,

Sheri

 

3 thoughts on “Birds of Sorrow

  1. Oh Sheri, My heart hurts for you this morning. I pray you will be kind and patient with yourself and find others who will provide unconditional love and support. I’m not a bereaved parent, but am trying to be present for dear friends whose 27 y/o son died recently. They have a multitude of friends who want to help. There’s an outcry of, “What can we do?”

    • Thank you that is so kind. I am so sorry to hear about your friends son. 27! So young. So tragic. It has been 4 years since my daughter died and although just 2 years ago I was still very lost I think I have finally showed the birds away from my hair. So to speak. Quotes like these help remind me to stay strong and know what’s true in your heart. I wish peace for your friend and knowing u you’re sharing her loss with me shows you care and are a great friend.

      • That is a wonderful proverb. I’m so thankful the birds stopped nesting in your hair. This couple has two surviving adult daughters and a strong community of support. We’re grateful they have a10-month-old granddaughter to dote one. I’ll remember what you said about feeling lost for years. We’ll remind them to go easy on themselves.

Leave a Reply

