Re-Growth

 

Image

 

“Don’t be ashamed to weep; ’tis right to grieve. Tears are only water, and flowers, trees, and fruit cannot grow without water. But there must be sunlight also. A wounded heart will heal in time, and when it does, the memory and love of our lost ones is sealed inside to comfort us.”
Brian Jacques,  

I wrote a while back in a post called:  Nothing is forever; All is Dukkha

https://dealingwithmygrief.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/nothing-is-forever-all-is-dukkha/

About the metaphorical beginning of my suffering; as I watched a metal claw hammer at and then tear out a beautiful old growth tree in my neighborhood and I could not contain the tears or the pain that welled into my heart as I watched the destruction of it.

I found this stump, in the same field that about 500 trees were taken out, it is not the same tree I saw that day but one of many stumps left, though some were taken out completely to be covered by a grass field necessary for the school that was put in place. Which yes was needed because of  the growth of society. My only wish would be to have developers consider saving and working around more trees, that is not to say that most do not do a great job planting new trees they do. However  the 100 that were re-planted is no-where near the 500 that were taken but it is better than nothing I guess.

My point… well in discovering this stump, the re-growth of this stump, I smiled, my heart warmed. The resilience of nature! It is symbolic in a way that I watched so emotionally as that tree over 2 years ago was ripped from the ground. That it  was co in siding with the beginning of a shift in my life to have so much grief be at the fore front of my world. Then to see this stump beginning to re-grow. After the last 2 years of my own growth through my journey of grief. To me it symbolized another change, a new period, more growth, change and acceptance.

 

I felt my lungs inflate with the onrush of scenery—air, mountains, trees, people. I thought, “This is what it is to be happy.”
Sylvia Plath 

 The most healing thing for me on this journey through grief has been planting, trees, shrubs, flowers -especially Lily flowers, strawberry patches, carrots, peas, sunflowers….watching things grow out of our mother earths soil purely from sun and water is truly amazing. You should try it sometime.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

