Living with the right regrets; letting go of the rest.

Living with the right regrets; letting go of the rest.

I know I will always have the one regret of not holding you enough.

You came home for the first time two years ago today, if I knew you’d be going back in two weeks and then gone in three, oh god how I would have done it differently. I would have taken us all away for those two glorious weeks to be together just us, I never would have let you go, carrying you everywhere, I would have bathed you every day, and cuddled you all night every night. I’m sorry none of that happened, almost the opposite did and I will live with that regret forever.

‘Your regrets aren’t what you did, but what you didn’t do. So I take every opportunity.’
-Cameron Diaz

When I was in my early twenties I regretted a lot of things I did in my teen years, when I was in my late twenties I regretted things I did in my twenties, now in my thirties, I realized I have no regrets, especially for those things I previously did. Why? Well they shaped me- yes. They were loads of fun (careless, reckless, shameless fun!) but more so because if I didn’t have all those adventures that I thought I shouldn’t have I wouldn’t have been able to enjoy my kids as much. I wouldn’t have been able to had the thought- ‘wow’- ‘I did a lot before having kids’ so I do not feel like I’ve missed out.- yes I was probably way too young for most of the stuff I used to do- I was going to bars at sixteen! But at twenty-five, having my 1rst baby that was ok- when most were just entering their crazy self exploration stage, I was done! Ready to move on. I don’t have those regrets anymore.

‘Let us not bankrupt our todays by paying interest on the regrets of yesterday and by borrowing in advance the troubles of tomorrow.’ -Ralph W. Sockman

Stop regretting the stuff that doesn’t matter, you did it, get over it.
Always remember to hold tight the ones still in front of you because you never know when your time (or theirs) is up.

3 thoughts on “Living with the right regrets; letting go of the rest.

  1. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who had been conducting a little research on this.
    And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him…
    lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!

    But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this matter here on your blog.

Leave a Reply

