Truth

This week when actress Lea Michele was on The Ellen DeGeneres Show she talked about her grief over loosing her boyfriend Cory Monteith. I was so touched by how real she spoke and how well she phrased her journey through grief. Here’s what she said:

“What people also don’t understand is that going to work is no harder than being at home and being in the house and opening up a closet and seeing a pair of shoes,” Michele explained,
“There’s this grief that goes with you everyday whatever you’re doing. When there’s great moments, hard moments. So I’d rather, for me, be at work with the people who I love that are going through it too.”
“It obviously has it’s own triggers, but at the end of the day I feel so safe there. And like I said, they’re my family.”

Some have described their grief like a rain cloud that follows them, some say its  a shadow that never goes away, some a veil over their eyes or it feels like they’re walking through a fog -constantly. I once described it as feeling like I was stuck down a well, looking up a deep, dark and narrow tunnel that I could not get out of.

But Lea Michele I think puts it best (I’m sure others have said this before)  by simply saying ‘grief follows you everywhere’. Hopefully because it was shared with such a huge audience people can understand grief better. Greif never leaves you, you just become a different person in a new world where your grief will always exist. Some days are good, some are bad but its always there like a second skin.

Leave a Reply

