Free yourself from Christmas and help others instead

Christmas should be joyous, an incredibly happy time especially for kids.

But the reality is that for most it is stressful, kids stress about what they may or may not get- parents stress about what they cannot afford and for those who do not live with the luxurious standards of North American society, it is just another day without food, or toys or maybe without their family.

I am truly disgusted with our North American “Christmas”. And yes even here in N. America there are a lot of poor families that struggle through the holidays or the poor jobless man that freezes out in the cold every night. My heart aches for these people and the struggles they endure daily, I feel very lucky to have what I have to share it with my kids and those around me.

A lot of people are surprised when they ask me if I have done all my shopping for the holidays and I always answer yes- the follow up questions are always what did you get so and so or wow- how? and my answer is easy I simply do not do it. My kids get 1! gift from Santa and 1! gift from mom and dad. But what about your family? your in-laws? your brothers or uncles? sister in laws and nephews?- OH MY G… I am almost as shocked by peoples shocked reaction and the looks on their faces is priceless! Really- how!? How do you give nothing? – I say its easy most people know how I feel about waste, recycling, the environment, and especially all the unnecessary junk that gets handed out at Christmas-( if people cut their useless gift giving in half and donated the rest to a worthy cause the world could be a better place.)

I always send Christmas cards with family photos or drawings the kids make, some times a little ornament or picture frame holding the photo and then I donate in their names online and they usually get something telling them what their gift is for.

In my heart I am doing what I believe to be the right thing I do not support the commercialization and wastefulness that is Christmas- which is also why I ask people not to bring gifts when they come to our house- I honestly do not want them- there is someone out that that could use it more

But giving gifts feels good- you say…. well giving money to a homeless shelter feels better, giving money to support cause that I believe are important feels better I choose to help wildlife and raise awareness for the environment.

Please start something new give a card with a photo and donate.

Free yourself and help others.

http://www.davidsuzuki.org/donate/more-ways-to-give/

http://shop.wwf.ca/collections/adoptions

Or give to Children in need….

Leave a Reply

